Category: Health America

Dallas, Texas - The American Heart Association, the world's leading voluntary organization dedicated to building healthier lives, free of cardiovascular diseases and stroke, has elected its national volunteer officers for the 2017-18 fiscal year, which begins July 1.

James J. Postl, the retired president and chief executive officer of Houston, Texas-based Pennzoil-Quaker State Company, is chairman. The new president is John J. Warner, M.D., chief executive officer of UT Southwestern University Hospitals and Senior Executive Officer for Southwestern Health Resources in Dallas, Texas.

As chairman, Postl will oversee the Association's nationwide business affairs and fundraising activities, and will preside over the board of directors and executive committee. An Association volunteer for more than 18 years, Postl was the 2014-16 chairman of the Association's regional SouthWest Affiliate and 2013-15 co-chairperson of the organization's International Committee. He has been a member of the Association's Board of Directors since 2010. 

As president, Warner will serve as national chief scientific and medical volunteer, responsible for medical, scientific and public health matters. A highly regarded interventional cardiologist and hospital system administrator, Warner was the 2012-14 president of the Association's regional SouthWest Affiliate and previously president of its Dallas Division. He has been a leading voice in local advocacy and public policy initiatives in priority areas including legislative support for smoke-free air, CPR training and systems of care.

"Volunteer leaders are foundational to the success of the American Heart Association," said Nancy Brown, chief executive officer of the American Heart Association. "We are very fortunate to have these volunteer leaders, who represent the best in their fields, serve as our national officers. Together, we will work closely to take the American Heart Association in new and exciting directions to achieve its mission to build healthier lives, free of cardiovascular diseases and stroke."

The Association has also announced its 2017-18 treasurer, chairman-elect and president-elect.

Raymond Vara Jr., president and chief executive officer of Hawaii Pacific Health in Honolulu, Hawaii, is treasurer. In this role, Vara is responsible for the association's funds and securities. In addition, he is chairman of the association's Corporate Operations Coordinating Committee and has been a committee member since 2011. Vara also served as chairman of the association's former Pacific Mountain Affiliate from 2009 to 2011.

Bertram L. Scott, who is senior vice president of population health and value based care at Novant Health of Charlotte, North Carolina, is chairman-elect. Prior to joining Novant, Scott was president and CEO of Affinity Health Plan, a $2 billion New-York-based health plan serving more than 300,000 customers. 

Ivor J. Benjamin, M.D., professor of medicine, physiology, pharmacology, toxicology, cell biology and surgery and center director of the cardiovascular center at the Medical College of Wisconsin in Milwaukee, Wisconsin is president-elect. Benjamin is on the editorial boards of the American Heart Association's Circulation and Circulation Research journals and a founding member of the Journal of the American Heart Association. He has also served in leadership positions of the American Heart Association's regional and national committees.